The Proust Questionnaire

A two-fer today! Oh, you lucky people!

I was reading an article about David Bowie earlier this morning and he was asked to answer the Proust Questionnaire, which dates back to the 1880s when Marcel Proust was given it by his friend Antoinette, the daughter of France’s then-president, as part of her “confession album” — a Victorian version of today’s popular personality tests, designed to reveal the answerer’s tastes, aspirations, and sensibility in a series of simple questions. MySpace survey origins can be traced back 135 years!

The Questions

What is your idea of perfect happiness?
Attending concerts with my sidekick. Nothing like good music and even better company.

What is your most marked characteristic?
Being difficult to get to talk. Or if I put a positive spin on that, my mad listening skills.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Having some of my writing published in an anthology.

What is your greatest fear?
Losing my eyesight and being rejected.

What historical figure do you most identify with?
F. Scott Fitzgerald. I swear that man writes of love like I would write about it if I weren’t such a bumbling fool with poor grammar and improper syntax.

Which living person do you most admire?
My grandmother. She’s a tough old broad.

Who are your heroes in real life?
Those who keep their senses of humor in situations that would otherwise destroy it.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
Oh sweet Jesus… probably my lack of confidence. Close second is constant self-deprecation.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Arrogance.

What is your favorite journey?
Learning.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
Moderation.

Which word or phrases do you most overuse?
Fuck and any variation of it.

What is your greatest regret?
Marrying too young.

What is your current state of mind?
Embarrassed for certain behaviors and apprehensive I’ve caused damage in a certain relationship because of it.

If you could change one thing about your family, what would it be?
The petty fights that always seem to be a constant.

What is your most treasured possession?
Concert ticket stubs from all the concerts I’ve been to over the years.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Making yourself a victim of your circumstances.

Where would you like to live?
In a house with a large library.

What is your favorite occupation?
Writing, be it ever so mediocre at times.

What is the quality you most like in a man?
Wit.

What is the quality you most like in a woman?
Sass.

What are your favorite names?
I know of the name “Roqueha” (pronounced roh-kay-ah). I just think that’s a gorgeous name.

And there you have it! And to make it feel even more MySpace-y, I’ll add that I have grey eyes, I prefer Coke to Pepsi/vanilla to chocolate ice cream, I’m 33, I have an older brother, I lost my virginity at age 20, and if I were to admit to a celebrity crush, it’d be Edward Norton.

The end! Yay!

What is your motto?
“What” is my motto.

Leave a Reply

