August 27, 2014

Let’s cut straight to the chase here. No effing around.

I’ve dealt with a lot of hormonal issues ever since my hysterectomy. I had an appointment this past Friday and had blood drawn to check levels and whatnot. I got a call Monday saying that I needed to come back in to discuss the results and treatment options. Immediately, I knew something was up. The last time I was told to “discuss treatment options,” I ended up without a uterus.

The appointment was today and I had visions of my remaining ovaries, the left one in particular, had finally given up the goat and was essentially useless. I mentally prepared myself for the words of “you need another surgery to remove it.”

Imagine my surprise when this isn’t the case, that despite how effed up my left ovary was at the time of surgery (a very large “chocolate” cyst was on it, caused by endometriosis. This was drained and left intact). I was told my ovaries are fine.

Say what? Really? Then explain why I’m getting hot flashes like I’m standing in the middle of the sun, please. But one hormone, FSH, or follicle stimulating hormone, was within normal range. If my ovaries crapped out, it would be high, like women going through menopause would experience. But nope, it was good.

However, my estrogen level is really low, despite being on birth control. What gives, yo?

Well, my problem may not lie in my reproductive organs, but rather, my pituitary gland. For those who slept through anatomy and physiology, the pituitary gland regulates and produces hormones itself, including estrogen. Given the fact everything but estrogen is normal, this points a finger at the ol’ gland in my brain. More lab was drawn today to check it and I should find out by the end of the week what these values are.

Until then, I’ve been taken off birth control because since I don’t have a baby house anymore, I don’t need the progesterone aspect of the pill, and was prescribed a straight up estrogen patch.

I hope this works, but I’m not going to lie to you all…I’m kind of sort of really freaked out about the pituitary gland thing. Why? Because I could have a tumor or something. I’ve read that most pituitary gland tumors are benign, but you know, it’s me and I’m a slight hypochondriac at times, and well, I’m scared. I’m sure I’m making this into something far more huge than it should be, but I also thought that same thing about Terry the Fibroid and look where that got me. Sometimes, a person just knows when things aren’t right in your body. I have that feeling again.

If the labs come back abnormal again, my doctor told me she’s going to refer me on to an endocrinologist. Oh joy. I’m getting really tired of this junk. I was under the impression all my problems would be over once the uterus was taken out. I even asked what would happen if the ovaries were removed and was told my troubles would increase. Uh, no thanks. I already feel like a freak now. Let us not add to it, thank you.

So that’s my day. I’m trying to be calm and cool, but again, it’s me. I seem fine on the outside, but internally, shit is being lost. I keep googling stuff and this is why I have put my phone in another room so I do not do this.

But hey, I’m reading a really good book, so I have that going for me, which is nice.

As usual, thanks for reading. My tumor and I thank you.

E

Leave a Reply

