An Open Letter To The Five Supreme Court Justices

image

Hello, sirs. My name is Erin and the above picture you’re looking at is my uterus and ovaries.

I had a subtotal hysterectomy nineteen days ago as I was diagnosed with an enlarged uterus, thanks to an extremely large fibroid that was growing in the muscle wall. This fibroid was so large, it choked off its own blood supply, causing the fibroid to start decomposing from the inside. See that lumpy, silver mass next to my uterus? That’s my left ovary grossly deformed by cysts due to polycystic ovary syndrome. I also had endometriosis. As you can see, a trifecta of some pretty serious issues.

I’m writing today because even though I no longer have a uterus, an organ that seems to repulse, disgust, and baffle men like you, I take birth control pills.

Why?

Because I’m one of the millions of women who use birth control for reasons other than contraception. The hormones in The Pill are those that my body fails to produce on its own. By taking birth control, I’m receiving those essential hormones and hopefully preventing further cysts from forming on my ovaries. My gynecologist is pessimistic that I’ll be able to keep my left ovary, however, and told me it will most likely be removed sometime in the near future. If this happens, the need for birth control will be even more beneficial to my health.

Justices, your ruling on the Hobby Lobby case June 30, 2014 was a poor one. You have a fundamental misunderstanding of the alternative uses for oral contraception. This decision was made out of ignorance and because of it, my future health will be compromised, as well as the health of all women who rely on The Pill, no matter what they take it for–hormone regulation or otherwise. How can you sleep at night knowing this? How can you deny women their right to medication? Surely, some of you have wives, daughters, nieces, or your sons married nice women. Would you care to explain to these women why you voted the way you did? Could you look these women to whom you love in the eye and basically tell them that their health doesn’t mean anything to you?

I’m starting to consider having a gun implanted in the area where my uterus once was in hopes that this will help people like you view me as a human being who deserves treatment as such.

I’m embarrassed and ashamed by this ruling, Justices. I guess “we the people” only refers to those with penises between their legs.

I apologize for sounding like a man-hater. On the contrary…I am fortunate enough to have men in my life who view me as an equal and who care about me and my health and rights. These men get it. Pity you can’t.

If you’ll excuse me, I’m due to take my birth control pill now. Good afternoon.

Signed,
Erin

Leave a Reply

