Precious

Day Eight. Ninety-two to go. Welcome back for another iPod Challenge.

Today, I have chosen “Precious” by Depeche Mode and it comes off 2005’s Playing The Angel album.

I’ve always been a Depeche Mode fan, but when this album came out and this single was released, my admiration for the band increased. It’s an incredible song, musically and lyrically.

Musically, it’s catchy as all get out. The drum and bass lines pound away rhythmically, a soft piano melody on top of that, and funky synthesizers round out the whole thing. If you don’t tap your feet to this song at any point, you are devoid of all good things in your life.

Lyrically, as Steve Zissou once said, “it’s a goddamn tear jerker.”

I remember you, Steve.
I remember you, Steve.

It should be noted that DM hardly ever reveals the meanings behind their songs due to the band wanting people to find their own interpretation, but an exception was given to “Precious.” It is about Martin Gore’s children during his divorce from their mother. Aw geez.

Precious and fragile things
Need special handling
My God what have we done to you
We always tried to share
The tenderest of care
Now look what we have put you throughThings get damaged
Things get broken
I thought we’d manage
But words left unspoken
Left us so brittle
There was so little left to give

Angels with silver wings
Shouldn’t know suffering
I wish I could take the pain for you
If God has a master plan
That only He understands
I hope it’s your eyes He’s seeing through

Things get damaged
Things get broken
I thought we’d manage
But words left unspoken
Left us so brittle
There was so little left to give

I pray you learn to trust
Have faith in both of us
And keep room in your hearts for two

Things get damaged
Things get broken
I thought we’d manage
But words left unspoken
Left us so brittle
There was so little left to give

The song didn’t really have a special meaning to me, really, but I remember shortly after my father’s wife passed away, the two of us were traveling to Idaho for my nephew’s high school graduation and I had made a road trip playlist, because of course I did. I included this song because I knew Dad would like the beat of it. We had a long-standing joke about certain songs that had a catchy hook; we’d riff off the old American Bandstand gag of being interviewed by Dick Clark. “Hi, my name’s Erin! I like this song because it’s got a good beat and I like to dance to it!”

But he found meaning in the song and he made me play it on repeat for a few listens. I think it was the “angels with silver wings” verse that really hit him hard. The circumstances around his wife’s passing were not pleasant and I don’t really want to get into that, but just know that I gave my dad this song to help him. I hope it did.

Well, now that I’ve sufficiently brought the mood down, I’ll take my leave of you. Please enjoy the song.

Thank you for reading.

E

Leave a Reply

