May 31, 2013

Good evening from Nebraska.

Wait…say whaaaaaat? Nebraska? 

Yes. Nebraska. The Mother Land. The Good Life. I’m back, babies.

It’s good to be back. I’ve missed this place and all the people here. Austin was a great experience for me. I really did like it there and was getting used to the “big city,” but my heart belongs here and I’m excited for what’s to come. What that is exactly, I don’t know, but that’s why it’s exciting.

I’m beginning the brutal task of job hunting and apartment searching. Don’t be jealous. I know you are, but try to quell that green-eyed monster. Thankfully and gratefully, I have a friend willing to let me stay with her for a few weeks until I can find my own place, so that’s great. I would stay with either of my parents in their respective towns, but I can only handle so much small town living before I start yearning for Starbucks on every corner and the urge to go to Wal-Mart at 4:00 a.m. if I feel so inclined. Staying with my parents makes that difficult, as either of those luxuries (did I just refer to Wal-Mart as a “luxury”? I sure did. Shoot me now.) are roughly 50-100 miles away. No thank you, ma’am. However, today I went on a hometown photography shoot and that was actually pretty dang neat. I hadn’t done that in about 5 years and sadly, yet still comforting, nothing has changed much in that time. Call me sentimental, I guess.

I plan on being dumb in my living situation. Allow me to elaborate: I applied for a job in Omaha, but I am thinking of living in Lincoln because it’s me and I don’t ever do things simply or easily. Would you expect anything less of me? I mean, really. It sounds like a good idea now, but once winter rolls around and there’s ice and snow on the interstate and I am cursing my poor decision to live 50 miles away, I’ll be wishing I had chosen Omaha instead, but that’ll give me a great excuse for a snow day. See? I’m not totally stupid; just mildly.

Gosh, I’m kind of at a loss for words tonight. I’m a bit rusty on the keyboard; I haven’t written in a while. Bad Erin. That’s a very bad Erin. Eh. You’ll have that, though. My Great American Novel will have to wait yet again. Sigh.

Well, that’s all. Short and sweet, the complete opposite of me.

Thanks for reading,

E

