May 2, 2013

Happy May, everyone.

I’ll cut right to the chase on this one. No beating around the bush; besides, George has taken enough abuse. Hahaha! Clever!

I need to make an announcement. No, I’m not pregnant. Ain’t nobody needs that. I am, however, moving…again.

As you know, I’ve been in Austin, Texas since January. For the most part, it’s been good. I like this city and all that there is to offer here. Hello, Live Music Capital of the World! But have you ever had that feeling when you know something isn’t right for you? That’s how I feel about Austin. I miss my family too much. Being 13 hours away is too far. It’s one of those things were you realize what you had when you don’t have it anymore.

I realize this news is going to have mixed reactions, and honestly, I feel the same way. Some of you may think I’m not giving Austin a fair shake, that I haven’t been here long enough to fully appreciate it. There’s some truth to that. Five months really isn’t that long. I haven’t experienced much here, I admit. But I don’t know if that would sway my decision to leave much. Sure, there are cool things to do here, but there’s cool things to do no matter where you are, you just have to know where to look.

Some may also think I’m letting my emotions dictate my wanting to leave. This is also somewhat true. Again, as you know, I moved here because of the romantic in me. I had met A Man and This Man lives here in Austin and I wanted to with This Man, so off I went to the exciting land of Texas. Well, like all good things in life, nothing lasts forever, and our situation was not immune to this. Two months after moving here, This Man and I called it quits. I was sad it didn’t work out, and still am to an extent, but again, there are some things you know aren’t right. I’m not saying it wasn’t right, because it was for a while, but This Man and I had problems that didn’t have any solutions. Such is life, I guess. Please don’t assume I’m leaving because of Him, because as the old saying goes, you’d be making an ass out of you and me.

I’ve thought long and hard about this because let’s face it: it’s me. I think things to death, then go back for more. Ultimately, I decided on moving back. My heart belongs somewhere else. I’ve enjoyed my time here, all the people I’ve met, and I will hold all of them close to me.

My dad totally nailed it when I called him for fatherly advice. He said, “Erin, there is no bad choice here. Anything you decide will be okay.” And you know what? He’s right. The old man is pretty wise for being an old man.

What’s your plan now, Erin? 

Good question. So far, I’ve worked out this much: I’ll be giving my notice to work, and have my last day be the 31st. I want to be immature and just say “fuck it!” and leave without notice, but that’s rude and inconsiderate and wholly unprofessional. Plus, I already have my schedule for this month and if I leave them without warning, they’ll be screwed, to put it nicely. The 31st is a Friday, so I’ll spend that weekend gathering up my meager belongings and stuffing them in my Jetta, which I have to make a quick funny aside here: also when speaking with Pops, he said of getting my junk back to Nebraska: “well, at least you’ll have more room this time.” See, that’s humorous because when I left Nebraska, The Man was with me. Well, I thought that was funny. Anyway, packing up my car that weekend and will head back to The Good Life. I kind of want to make an adventure out of my drive back, mainly to avoid the hell that is driving through Oklahoma because sweet Jesus, that state is awful and any excuse not to go through OK City is a good one, in my opinion. 

Once back in Nebraska, I’ll be staying with my dad for a short while. Before I left, I moved all the crap I couldn’t take with me to his place and he kindly asked me to sort through all said crap and get rid of anything I don’t absolutely need because we put all of this crap in his garden storage shed and he more than hinted that he doesn’t want unwanted boxes of crap taking up his space, so I decided to throw the old man a bone and obliged to this in exchange for him letting me hide out for a bit. Seems fair.

I emailed my old boss the other day asking if there were any openings back at my previous employer and was somewhat cunt-ily told “fuck off,” so I’ve decided to check into jobs in the Omaha area as there are a few practices similar to what I work in already there. Plus, I have a few contacts in that area and have had some positive leads, so that’s good for me.

I’m excited to get back. I know things aren’t going to be as I left them. It’s only been 5 months, but I realize things change. I think I’m the goddamned poster child for this statement. I’m just looking forward to being around my family again. I’m also looking forward to living by myself. I’ve never lived alone before, and I’m almost 32 years old. I went from my parents to my husband to roommates and never had the chance to be solely responsible for myself. I foresee zero pants wearing. It’s going to be glorious.

There you have it. And because I’m a dork, I leave you with this…

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/lN0lpoAtBeM&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

