January 21, 2013

Good Monday to you, friends.

I’m going on Week Three in Texas, and it’s been kind to me so far. I’m anxious today, though; I had a job interview at an organization I would love to work for last Thursday, and am waiting to hear back from them about my hopefully future employment with them. I feel the interview went well, from my perspective, at least, but I guess I’ll just have to continue sitting on pins and needles until I get word. I realize the need for them to contact my references, confirm my earlier work history and experience, and decide if I am indeed a right fit for them, and this takes time, but this gal needs a job. I was born good-looking, not rich, and bills need paid, son. If I don’t hear from them today, I plan on making the always awkward “so…wanna hire me or what?” phone call tomorrow to find out my fate. Until then, I’m going to continue sitting outside on this beautiful mid-January day, barefoot and in short sleeves, and write because that’s all I really want to do now.

I’m also kind of homesick today, which I’m told is completely normal. I mean for gosh sake’s, I made a pretty big change by leaving the comfort and familiarity of Nebraska for Texas. I left a good job, amazing friends, and loving family. I do not regret this decision at all. I needed the change, I needed the challenge. People can become so comfortable where they are…not that it’s a bad thing. Not at all, actually. The key is understanding if that comfort is because you are truly happy where you are, or if you’re just settling because you’re scared of the change. Change is always panic-inducing, at least to me. Things aren’t the same, so therefore, change is the enemy. How wrong that is. All change is good, even when it seems bad…well, except for when you change laundry detergents and the new one gives you a gross rash on your entire body…that change could be considered bad.

Anyway…homesick. And I thought this was an interesting factoid because I’m kind of a nerd and thought it was interesting: the population of Austin and the surrounding area, which according to The Great and Mighty Google is roughly 1.3 million folks. The population of Nebraska is 1.8 million people. WACKY. I’m basically living with the entire state of Nebraska in one community and that is b-to-the-onkers to me. You can take the gal out of the small town, but you can’t take the small town out of the gal.

I really am liking it here, though, despite my homesickies. I made a trip around town without the use of the navigational app on my phone yesterday, which I thought was a pretty significant accomplishment, in my opinion. I drove like I knew where the hell I was going! And I did! Kind of! I do admit to getting lost on my way to that job interview last week, and barely making in time. After the interview was over, the gal and I were talking about quick routes to places and she’s rattling off all these streets and directions and I’m just looking at her like she told me she’s part unicorn. Some day, I will know where I’m going, but for now, I’ll rely heavily on Google Maps for iPhone…even though that isn’t 100% accurate, as I learned that painful lesson getting to the interview in the first place.

Well, that’s about it for me for now. I’ve been searching for online short fiction contests and publications to submit to and looking for word prompts to help with my creative juices. I’ve made it a goal of mine for 2013 to actually get paid for something I wrote, instead of writing for free. Of course, it’s every writer’s dream to have their creativity rewarded monetarily, and to have thousands of people read the fruits of their labor. I’d be lying if I said that wasn’t something I wanted, because it is. But for now, it remains my hobby, my release, and my outlet.

Thanks for reading. You’re awesome.

E

