One Week In Texas

Author’s note: please read the title in the tune of “One Night In Bangkok” by Murray Head.

Hello from Austin, Texas.

Say whaaaaat?

Yep. I took the plunge and relocated myself. I know, right?!

I quit my job in Nebraska, packed up my belongings, loaded up my car, and drove 14 hours south to The Lone Star State. Yippee ki yay, motherfuckers!

It was a huge decision for me. Huge. During the course of my marriage, I had always wanted to move away from Nebraska because my ex-husband and I were young, child-free, and the world was our proverbial oyster, but he was hesitant to do so, so in Nebraska we remained. Every now and again, I’d bring up the idea of moving and he’d balk at the idea, and I’d quit nagging him about it until the urge resurfaced in me. Eventually, I stopped asking, as I had ended going back to school and graduating and finding a “big kid job,” so at that point, we were settled, but the idea of living elsewhere was always niggling away at me. After our separation over two years ago, the thought was brought up again, this time by family members: “Erin, you should move. You need a change of scenery. It’d be good for you.” I contemplated the idea, I really did, but I had ended up adopting my ex’s complacency about moving and in Nebraska I stayed. It wasn’t until recently that the thought of moving started to sound more appealing to me. After two years, the divorce was finally over with, and my attention for my job was starting to wane, and I wasn’t exactly a fan of my living situation. A friend let me rent out his basement, which was a lifesaver and I’m grateful for him for letting me stay with him, but I had a “what the shit, woman?” moment a few months ago and decided it was time for a change, but I was still reluctant to make it.

Then, I met Edward.

Edward lives here in Austin, as well. And one of my best friends, Jamie, also moved here this summer and she’s been gently harassing me to move down here, too. I kind of brushed her off at first, saying I’d think about it, and I did for a bit, but wouldn’t commit to anything. As the relationship with Edward started moving toward more serious territory, I started to give it more serious thought. I remember a phone conversation Edward and I had a few months ago:

“You should move to Texas.”

“Okay.”

“Okay?”

“Yeah, okay.”

And by golly, I did.

Aside from the occasional bout of homesickness and “holy shit…” moments I feel, my first week here has been pretty all right. I wish I could say I’ve done amazing things, seen amazing places, and am living it up, but sadly, I haven’t…at least, not yet. I did, however, get to experience my first taste of traffic in a large metro area, and that was fun. The only thing I can really compare it to was downtown Lincoln during a Husker game day…times a billion.

Right now, my primary focus is finding a job. As I said a paragraph ago, I quit my Nebraska job and moved here without having a job. When I do something, I tend to do it all-out. I did some pre-move job searches and found there to be several cardiologists down here, so my optimism in finding a job was pretty high, and I still have hopes for landing a decent job comparable to the one I had, but the “holy crap, I don’t have a job” thing is really starting to get to me, which I know is putting too much pressure on myself since I have only been here a week, but still. I haven’t not had a job in over ten years, so this period of unemployment has me feeling like a massive slacker. I’ve been searching online for jobs, I made my résumé all pretty, and applied for a few positions, so it’s basically the dreadful waiting game at this point. I’ve been praying to The Job Gods to send positive rainbow energies my way, so lets see if that helps.

A huge benefit to me is that Jamie does live here, and has graciously allowed me to live with her rent free until I do land on my feet. I have no words for how grateful I am for her. I’d be living in my car if it weren’t for her. I need to keep things in perspective about my situation: I do have a place to stay. I do have a college degree and invaluable work experience under my belt. Patience is key, and I’m usually blessed with extreme patience, but I’d also like to, oh gosh, I don’t know, pay my bills and shit. But that’s just me.

Welp, that’s all for now, I guess.

As usual, thanks for reading.

Your pal,

E

