A is for Atheist: The Force is strong with this one.

I love a good Star Wars reference whenever I can squeak one in.

Hello, heathens. It’s been a lovely day to be an atheist. Not that any day isn’t a good day, but today has been especially fun.

I have a love/hate relationship with Facebook, but it’s been on fire lately, and for this, I’m grateful. One of the feeds I subscribe to is “I fucking love Atheism!” and by golly, do I ever.

20120924-165427.jpg

This photo, from a person to who I am certain has been voted “Christian of the Year,” made me giggle and then immediately made me glad to be an atheist. It’s not every day I get called a “tattooed hipster atheist faggot,” although I take offense to being called a hipster. Take it back, Christian!

I don’t know what makes me more distraught: the fact that 39 people “liked” this post–all good god-fearing Christians, I bet–or the fact this guy (or gal, but I’m assuming male due to the cro magnon chest beating they are displaying) was obviously not paying attention in church when the pastor went over, well, any sermon ever.

Every time I see this, I both laugh and am ashamed. I laugh because it’s truly funny to me. They don’t like to give their opinion, but by golly, here’s my opinion. I’m ashamed because they are clearly doing their religion wrong. Even me, a tattooed hipster atheist faggot, can see that.

This is another point on my increasingly long list of reasons why I no longer submit to Christianity. Why are there people like this? Why do some feel the need to threaten those who do not share the same beliefs of them with violence?

They’re scared, that’s why.

They are scared of me and my willingness to disprove them. They are scared that their beliefs are being challenged.

It’s of my opinion that belief in any form of religion is inherited; mine was. My parents are Christians, their parents were Christians, their parents were Christians…and further down the roots of the family tree it goes. I was born into Christianity, I was raised Missouri Synod Lutheran, being baptized into the faith when I was one month old, and continued until I was 20, when I got away from my sleepy little Midwestern town, founded by hardworking German settlers back in the 1800’s, and saw beyond what I had been taught.

I didn’t like it. I didn’t like hearing that people didn’t believe in God. I was taught in my parochial school that people who don’t believe in God will suffer eternal damnation in hell, which really bothered me because the people who led me to my enlightenment were my now ex-husband’s family. I loved them and didn’t want them to not be with me in Heaven when we died. Everything I had been taught for twenty years was being threatened by these godless heathens.

And today, I’m grateful for that.

I’m grateful I was encouraged to go beyond what billions of people hold as true and consider an alternative. I no longer cower in fear of doing anything wrong or sinful because God, the omniscient, omnipotent, least we forget benevolent, being he is will smite me and cast me into hell. I don’t need some supreme being telling me what’s right and wrong; my parents instilled values in me that I practice daily, not a man-made god.

I’m not amoral. In fact, I’m probably more moral than any Christian out there claiming they are. I don’t need stone tablets to tell me not to kill people. That’s kind of a given, and it’s sad people think they need a deity to tell them that.

I’m good without God, and I hope more people come to this same conclusion.

Hello, my name is Erin, and I’m an atheist. This isn’t an Alcoholics Annonymous-type confession, it’s a statement of my disbelief and willingness to examine life more critically.

Leave a Reply

