Pain Is Weakness Leaving Your Body

…if that’s the case, I don’t have an ounce of weakness left in me.

I hurt–and for once it isn’t emotionally! Bonus! Thanks crazy pills!

No, I mean my physical self hurts. As previously mentioned, I weigh(ed) 257.6 pounds. As of today, I’ve killed 6 pounds, thanks to my rekindled desire to actually get up off my hieny and exercise. I say “killed” because lost implies I want to find it again. Anyway, the Beginners Luck program (very similar to the Couch 2 5k program out there) has attributed much to this loss, as well as me going to the gym and juicing these sweet pecs of mine. But I hurt. It’s hell carrying around 60 extra pounds. As a visual, imagine trying to cart 10 one gallon jugs of milk with you wherever you go. Not an easy task. My lower back and the knee I injured back when I was a kid are the biggest protestors when I run, as well as my diseased smoker’s lungs. I now know why so many Americans are fat–it’s so much easier to do nothing than to actually out forth any effort. The old me would agree. The old me would be sitting on my butt right now, working on my third beer as I relax after work, then grab some cheap and completely unhealthy “food” item and stuff my face while I watch television, only to pass out from a carbohydrate coma and then I’d wake up the next day and do it all over again.

You know what I did after work today?

I ran. I ran so far away.

Okay, not too far, Flock of Seagulls. Today’s scheduled run/walk workout was to do 30 seconds of running and 30 seconds of jogging for 20 minutes. I did fifteen of those cycles before my body went “HEY. THIS IS GREAT AND SHIT, BUT TIME OUT, LADY.” Not bad for a kid who hasn’t done any sort of physical activity for two years, I think. Of course I want to do more and be able to complete all the cycles, but I’m just fucking jazzed I’m able to accomplish that much. I’ll get there eventually, and I need to remember to pace myself.

Thanks for all the support I’ve gotten so far, you guys. It helps to have a cheering squad behind you.

I leave you with a photo I took yesterday: the one on the left is me at the beginning of all this healthy junk, so about 3 weeks ago. The right is currently me. Subtle changes are happening and I look forward to more.

20120611-175808.jpg

One thought on “Pain Is Weakness Leaving Your Body

Leave a Reply

