A.A. Milne Is A Cruel Bastard.

“If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day, so I never have to live without you.”

Oh GOD. I am never reading Winnie the Pooh to any children I may have. Hell, I’m never reading Winnie the Pooh again, period. Have you ever read some of the lines in the books? The above is an example. Here’s another one:

“Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would I’d never leave.”

STOP IT. JUST STOP IT, OKAY?!

And then, my personal favorite and one that makes me bawl like a newborn lamb every time I see it, which is several times a day, because during a particularly rough time a few months back, my mom found a plaque that had this on it:

“If ever there is tomorrow when we’re not together.. there is something you must always remember. You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart.. I’ll always be with you.”

Please forgive any typing errors I may commit as my eyes have got something in them and are watering rather profusely.

I had no idea how deep that silly ol’ bear was. I have heard of the book “Tao of Pooh,” written as an introduction to Taoism and employs A.A. Milne’s beloved characters to help, but I don’t know if I could read that, either. Maybe I’m just overly emotional right now, or maybe A.A. Milne’s main purpose in life was to leave a legacy of having grown women cry their eyes out every time they read a quote from his Pooh books.

Whatever the case, I’m glad he did it. Sometimes, it’s okay to cry over a tubby little cubby.

I leave you with one more because I’m a glutton for punishment:

“Piglet sidled up to Pooh from behind. “Pooh,” he whispered.

“Yes, Piglet?”

“Nothing,” said Piglet, taking Pooh’s paw, “I just wanted to be sure of you.”

Leave a Reply

