Blarg. I’ll keep tonight’s post brief as I’m not feeling so well and to be honest, writing is the last thing I want to be doing right now, but I gotsta keep the gears oiled or whatever.

I’ve been alone all weekend as the remaining roommate is out of town. I don’t really like being alone. It’s okay sometimes, but spending two days and three nights solo, save the company of my dog, is lonely. I stuck close to home the past few days, too. I have been putting some crap off that needed to be done, so I did them. Anyway, since I’ve been a homebody, I haven’t had the chance to talk to anyone. I was outside with my dog earlier and I said something to him and the sound of my own voice surprised me. Part of that was the fact I hadn’t spoken since Friday and the other half was that it was an octave lower than usual due to what I assume is my semi-biannual-quarterly bout with bronchitis.

So. Things got done. I’m patting myself on the back for those things. The house is relatively spotless, my room is no longer a war zone and my taxes have been prepared-ish. Holy buckets of having to pay in, Batman. Yikes.

I started reading! I haven’t read in like, nine months. It’s sad. I have this weird thing where I read a book from an author, fall in love with their style and then once done with the book, can’t read anything else for a while. I blame this round on Dave Eggers. It’s always Dave Eggers. But I picked up my copy of short stories by author Amy Hempel and have been happily reading all day. It feels pretty good.

So, I guess this weekend is one I needed to gather my bearings and refocus, something I really didn’t think I needed, but I did. Despite feeling like I got into a fight over the last chicken wings at the Country Buffet with Rosie O’Donnell, it’s been a good few days, loneliness aside.

Okay, I’m spent. I want to crawl into my jammies and fall asleep.

Hope you all had a good weekend and catch you later!

E

Leave a Reply

