Why Live In An Unfurnished Apartment?

I read an article today that made me want to spit fire.

A “journalist,” and I use that term more loosely than my grandfather’s bowels, wrote on the topic of women with tattoos.

At first, I was interested! Why, I have tattoos! Nine, to be exact.

But then, I read the damn thing, and so should you: http://www.ubspectrum.com/opinion/why-put-a-bumper-sticker-on-a-ferrari-1.2755789?MMode=true#.TzC3xVyXtLc

I appreciate what the author is trying to say…grant it, very poorly, but I get it.

“Why put a bumper sticker on a Ferrari?” Well, let me pose this question to you, as well: “why live in an unfurnished apartment?”

Our bodies are supposed to be temples. Why muck them up by plastering Pink Floyd posters all over the walls? I realize she’s targeting the women who get barbed wire armbands and Chinese symbols and butterflies and angel wings and etc. She thinks those are silly, degrading and regrettable.

However, there are those of us, like myself, whose tattoos mean something. Take mine, for example: I have nine tattoos and each one is significant to me because I got them with people I love, or they are symbolic to me in some way.

The heart on my right wrist? I got that with a woman I consider my sister; she has a matching heart on her wrist, too. Every time I look at it, I am reminded of our incredible friendship and no matter how far away we are from each other, I glance down at my wrist, and a smile creeps on my face.

The tree on my right bicep was designed by my father and my brother, sister-in-law, and nephew also have the same design. We share a permanent reminder of our family ties.

To have Miss Kourhy instead say, “an elegant woman does not vandalize the temple she has been blessed with as her body. She appreciates it. She flaunts it. She’s not happy with it? She goes to the gym. She dresses it up in lavish, fun, trendy clothes, enjoying trips to the mall with her girlfriends. She accentuates her legs with high heels. She gets her nails done. She enjoys the finer things in life, all with the body she was blessed with” is misogynistic and sexist.

High heels? Trendy clothes? Getting my nails done? Honestly, ma’am…please stop writing. You’re an embarrassment to the female species by perpetuating a stereotype.

“But at the end of the day, are you really a happier person? Has this tattoo, for instance, caused you to learn something new about yourself? Has it challenged you? Has it led you to self-growth? Nothing comes out of getting a tattoo. You get a tattoo, and that’s it. You do something productive, though, and you see results. That’s a genuine, satisfying change in life. Not ink.”

Oops, there she goes again…

To assume that because I have tattoos that I am not “classy” is rude, and I take offense to that, to be honest with you. Do you know what I do for a living? I work in a specialized area of cardiology. I help to save people’s lives on a daily basis. I am a productive member of my community and engage in volunteering for charities. I am a writer in my spare time and have had my works published on several websites and am featured in a book devoted to donating all proceeds to help at-risk children.

Yep, you’re right; no class here. None to speak of. I should just quit life because I’m marred by hideous inking. Pass the diet pills and fetch me my trendy clothes as those are the only hope I have for being considered a real woman.

Seriously, lady. I appreciate your opinion, but know that you’re being counter-productive. You’re unfairly judging women with tattoos by assuming we’re incapable of doing great things with our lives because we have markings on our bodies. You know, in some cultures, tattoos are a right of passage for young adults. They are a point of pride and rank, but to you, I guess they are just tattooed freaks from a different country. To hell with you, spawns of Satan!

I do want to thank the author of the article for being brave enough to be this ignorant and ridiculous and for reaffirming my faith that I am just fine with being branded for life.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go make an appointment for another tattoo.

3 thoughts on “Why Live In An Unfurnished Apartment?

  1. I applaud this! YES! Ms. Khoury is truly an embarassment and does no good for the woman’s cause. When I read that my mouth dropped open. ARGH. Anyway, kudos on the rebuttal. And the tats, baby.

Leave a Reply

