How To Boil An Egg

The red LED light flashes on my cell phone; I have a new message. The old AOL “You’ve got mail!” voice sounds in my head. I smile. I love getting messages. I pick up my phone and look at who has sent me the text. It’s him. All happy thoughts dissipate and scatter.

“How long does one boil an egg for hard boiled?”

I sigh, pick up my phone and thumb my reply, “usually ten minutes or so. Take an egg out and spin it on the counter top; if it spins real fast, then it’s done.”

Seven months separated, and I am still taking care of him.

My phone flashes again. “Spin test worked. Thank you!”

“Good job,” I type back, “you can now boil an egg.”

Leave a Reply

